web UI Screen Share: Please wait for participant to join meeting & Room System Pairing

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
I set up a lot of meetings in advance of them starting. Here is the scenario:

VC-enabled room (with no directly attached computer for content sharing) is joining the meeting.  The computer which the instructor is presenting from is not and cannot be physically connected to the VC system.

All meetings are set up "Moderator-less"

I dial the bluejeans IP address from the room system and the pairing code is on the screen.

I use the Instructor laptop and put in the browser: URL for the meeting.  I choose Connect with Room System option.  I put in the pairing code and the Room System is now joined to the meeting. Now I want to share that laptop screen to the bj meeting.

Here is the problem:
IF there is someone else present in the bj meeting already, I can choose "Share Screen" from that same browser window and share the Instructor's screen. If there is NOT someone present, I get the pop-over message on the screen share icon, "Please wait for a participant to join before Screen Share" (paraphrased) and I have to come back to the room right before meeting start to be able to share the screen.

I used to be able to choose the option "re-connect using different option" to do the screen share from the computers, and I understand that is gone now, HOWEVER, now the browser UI will disconnect the room system if I choose the option to switch to screen-share-only mode on that laptop, which is not what I want to do, of course.

Can the ability to Share Screen from web plugin UI post-Room-System-Pairing be brought back for this scenario: when there aren't others present yet in the meeting?

Thank you.
Photo of UNC Pharmacy

UNC Pharmacy

  • 232 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Ben Hutchison

Ben Hutchison, Official Rep

  • 2,038 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Here's one technique you can try.

After pairing your browser with the room system, you can reload the page and choose View Screen Share Only instead of Room System. This will leave the room system connected to the meeting, and you can begin sharing from your browser as soon as you want. Other participants can join later and they will see your shared screen.

However, since you are no longer paired with the room system, your browser mute/hangup controls will no longer affect the room system. This may not be a big deal to you, just want you to be aware.

Hopefully these steps are useful for you.