Screen sharing before anyone joins the room

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • (Edited)

So I often setup BlueJeans meetings way in advance before anyone joins into the meeting room and it is always on behalf of a doctor. I have enabled screen share with my Polycom Real Presence 700. When the 1st remote participant joins into the meeting my screen share becomes disabled. Is there anyway to keep the screen share on?

Photo of Larry Kiang

Larry Kiang

  • 406 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Kathryn_Moderator

Kathryn_Moderator

  • 484 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I have noticed the same thing, but we use a LifeSize device on our a/v system.  Until you posted this message, I only knew that the meeting usually gets "un-shared" at the beginning, but I was not able to pinpoint it to the first caller.  However, your explanation makes sense in regard to timing and consistency of how I seem to lose the "screen share" one time before every meeting.
Photo of Philip - Lead Engineer

Philip - Lead Engineer, Customer Success Team

  • 2,250 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Hi Kathryn and Larry,

I did a test just now with a browser only session and had our community manager join the call with content already active.  The content remained up and did not have to be reinitiated.  I believe this may be more on the room endpoint side of things requesting a reinitiating of the content once the second device joins the call.   I also saw this happen during my days working at Polycom with their calls.   I will take this to our engineering team and see what are the particulars that is causing this from the endpoint side of things and see if we can do anything to accommodate your feature request

Stay Tuned
Photo of Kathryn_Moderator

Kathryn_Moderator

  • 484 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Thanks for the explanation.  If you do find out how we can prevent this from occurring on our a/v system in the future, please let me know.  -Kathryn

(Edited)