I am cleaning up user we don’t need, if I delete a user that has setup a meeting in the future what happens to that meeting?

  • 3
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
Deleted Users what happend to scheduled meetings
Photo of Joe Luksic

Joe Luksic

  • 100 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 3
Photo of Brett Smith

Brett Smith

  • 2,672 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Joe -

That is a great question. Our engineering team is actually testing this out as we speak and we expect to have an answer for you soon. Thanks for your patience and for bringing this to our attention.

Photo of Community Team

Community Team, Community Admin

  • 5,652 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Joe -

After testing 4-5 scenarios they will all disable the scheduled meeting associated with the deleted account. 

The invite (whether through Gmail or Outlook) will still exist, but when a user tries to join, the below notification will display. 

Does that help answer your question?

Photo of Joe Luksic

Joe Luksic

  • 100 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
So I will need to have everyone to redo their meetings then

Photo of Community Team

Community Team, Community Admin

  • 5,652 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Correct, you will need to reschedule the meeting if the host is the one that set it up. Are you using our Web App, Google or Outlook for calendaring? 


Photo of UNC Pharmacy

UNC Pharmacy

  • 232 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Can you confirm, is this still the case?  With the increase in 'seat' licensing fees, we have to drop a few seats and will mainly be creating meetings for the users who used to be able to schedule them for other people. If they have meetings and meeting ID's that were created under their soon-to-be-disabled accounts, is there a way to transfer those to our master account, which we are keeping?
Photo of Erin Buckley

Erin Buckley

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Can the meeting ownership be transferred to another user before retiring the account? For example, if someone is leaving the organization, can that person's meetings be owned by another user? Thanks!
Photo of Mike Kerr

Mike Kerr, Official Rep

  • 1,530 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
Hi Erin, we don't have the option to transfer the scheduled meeting to another user. If you needed to keep using that meeting ID, your best option is to keep the departed user's account in your group, changing the name (or tag) to document the departed status, maybe even making the scheduled meeting moderator-less (or passing along the moderator passcode to the person who will moderate the meeting going forward).

Hope this helps.
Photo of Erin Buckley

Erin Buckley

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Hi Mike - thanks for the reply. I have the meetings set up as no moderator required. Just have a whole lot of meetings created by one person. So here is a thought - We have the meetings displayed in our Google calendars.  So the log in information is there. Now, when the account used to create the meetings is deleted, I am assuming that the meeting ID created is deleted. I wonder if a different user could then create a meeting using the old ID, which presumably would now be freed up. And then the meetings could be help as scheduled. Does that make sense? Do you think it would work?

Thanks again!
Erin
Photo of Mike Kerr

Mike Kerr, Official Rep

  • 1,530 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
Hi Erin, when the user's account is removed from your group (or even hard deleted in our database), his personal meeting ID and scheduled meeting IDs cannot be re-used. If you wish to retain use of the meeting ID, you would need to keep the user's account in your group, renaming his account as needed. 
Photo of Mike Kerr

Mike Kerr, Official Rep

  • 1,530 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
correction, his personal meeting ID could be re-used.